“Oh taste and see that the Lord is good!” – Psalm 34:8

Posted: November 26, 2013 in Taste & See

 

 Taste:

1:  to become acquainted with by experience

2:  to have perception, experience, or enjoyment

3: a relish, liking, or partiality for something

4: to enjoy or appreciate

5: to test or try

 

   Some people have a passion for cooking; creating new inventions with food in the kitchen.  I happen to be one of those people.  It is an exciting challenge for me to take up a concoction and turn it into a culinary sensation.

    It wasn’t always like that.  It took me quite a while to hone my skills; to learn what worked and what didn’t.  It was by trying, and tasting, that I developed a flair for creating new menus.

    What I needed was experience.  The willingness to try different ingredients, to savor what I had found and to let the flavors expand and burst upon my tongue.  It was by trial that I began to enjoy what I was doing, and found myself trying more and more new ideas. 

    I don’t know how different our experience with the Lord is.  We find verses that cling to our very souls.  We find verses that we have to attempt to digest because they may teach us a challenging lesson. 

     The result is the same.  When we taste God; when we become His child, we acquire new taste buds.  We no longer despise what is good, but rather we embrace it.  We are nourished by His words; by the mind-blowing and mind-altering presence of the living God.  We long to repeat the tasting, to feel the goodness wrapped around our very souls.  We desire to try more of Him; sensing that every thing will be good.

    Here are some ‘nuggets’ of what the Lord says about His children:

 I have birthed you. – John 1:12

I have brought you into union with Me. – 1 Corinthians 6:17

I have forgiven you of all your sins. – Colossians 1:14

Your life is complete in Christ. – Colossians 2:10

I have freed you from condemnation. – Romans 8:1-2

I will never allow anything to separate you from My love. – Romans 8:35-39

I have hidden you in Christ. – Colossians 3:3

I will pour out grace and mercy in your time of need. – Hebrews 4:16

I will not let the evil one hurt you because you are born of me. – 1 John 5:18

You are a branch of the new vine, infused with life. – John 15:1,5

You may approach me with freedom and confidence. – Ephesians 3:12

You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. – Philippians 4:13

   Each of these words is filled with an explosion of meaning.  God has a wrenchingly intimate relationship with every one of His children.  These words are packed with a message for your soul, for you to taste and see that He is good.

    When we read God’s love letter to us, we need to savor every word; to know the words as we would gaze and know what is at a glorious feast.  We know not what honey tastes like by looking at it; rather when we taste and realize the pure sweetness do we know it is indeed good.

Leave a Reply

