Abide in me

Posted: November 26, 2013 in Taste & See

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned. If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.” – John 15:4-8

Abide

1:  to wait for

2:  to endure without yielding:  withstand

3:  to bear patiently:  tolerate

4:  to accept without objection

5:  to remain stable or fixed in a state

This is the only page where I will inject myself into the story.  When I first heard the word abide, and was told that I needed to do that very thing, I was horrified.  The word abide conjured up the idea of a demanded father ordering me to uphold his proclamations.

My mentor had an entirely different idea of the word.  She told me it was abiding safely in the Father’s arms, trusting Him to do what is good and right.

A decade later, I know that to be true.  Jesus is the only One who can be our true vine.  We branch off from Him, doing the work we are called to do.  When we have something branching in the wrong direction, He gently prunes that particular area and we continue to grow healthy.  Conversely, if a branch refuses to grow properly, as on any vine; it will be pruned away.

Jesus tells us that when we allow ourselves, when we abide, we are able to be turned in a direction that will provide delectable fruit that is in abundance.

When we allow the word of God to penetrate us, to cleanse us; to mold and shape us, we become an abiding force in God’s army of people full of grace and truth.

As the definition implies, we endure what comes against us; the gentle pruning, the violent storms; and we grow stronger in Christ.  We bear it patiently, knowing that the vine will always protect us.

A branch inherently wants to produce fruit; it’s in its DNA.   I believe that we are born with a desire to abide.  It’s what we abide in that matters.  Direct yourself to abiding in Someone who is the lover of your soul; who is waiting for you to produce good fruit.

Leave a Reply

